Hood River County Election: Levy Passes; Rasmussen & Babitz Win

Hood River County voters have approved a five-year public safety levy that County officials asked for.  The levy of 78-cents-per-thousand dollars of assessed property value was approved by nearly 57 percent of voters, winning approval with 4,460 votes to 3,369 against.  Passage marks an important moment for County officials that have been battling budget woes for a number of years.  County voters had turned down a pair of tax measures one year ago.  Carrie Rasmussen will be Hood River County’s new district attorney, as she received about 59 percent of the vote to succeed long-time D.A. John Sewell.  Rasumssen received 4,477 votes, while Sean Kallery received 3,109.  Former Hood River Mayor Arthur Babitz won a seat on the County Commission in District 2, receiving 1,150 votes to 792 for Paul Henke.  Babitz will succeed Rich McBride, who did not run for re-election and whose term will finish in January.

Adblock Detected

We have detected that you are using an adblock in your browser’s plugin to disable advertising from loading on our website.

Your Experience is very important to us, and your Ad Blocker enabled will cause our site not to perform as expected.  Turn off the Ad Blocker or add our site to your exceptions.  After you turn off or add exception please refresh the site or click ok.

Please note: Clicking OK below will NOT disable your ad blocker. You will need to make that change within the ad blocker's settings.